february goals: shaky footing

The goals for February were a little more taxing than the ones for January — but regardless, I don’t think that’s an excuse for some of the challenges I had.

1. Floweruary – I wore a flower 25/29 days in February, making Floweruary a success! Granted, I did not take pictures of most of these flowers…but I promise it happened. The funny thing is that I started my new job just as Floweruary started — I wonder if my boss will notice the sudden lack of decoration?

2. Research about Grad School Programs – This only happened once, and for that, I am disappointed. I will be revisiting this challenge in March.

3. Research about Gallery Artists – This only happened twice, but I felt both went really well. As the challenge was meant to help me learn about artists, I don’t think I will revisit this challenge, despite my lack of success — but I will continue to blog about artists we’re featuring in the Gallery.

4. Exercise (Bonus) – I was on a good roll for about a week and a half (yay!)…and then I stopped entirely (well, itwasa bonus goal). I will be visiting this as a formal challenge this month.

5. Dance Focus: Look at Partner – This is hard to quantify, but I am more cognizant about looking in a specific direction while doing variations, rather than at my feet. More importantly, I’m keeping a better eye on my dance partner. Still, I don’t feel like I accomplished much…

6. No more Coca-Cola – I was successful 25/29 days as well! Three out of four slip-ups are due to extreme exhaustion (two of which were while driving). The last was a moment of weakness and a treat to myself. But other than that, I’ve been doing extremely well.

7. Pay only by Cash, Track Spending – I am half rocking out this challenge. I’ve been tracking my spending really well, but I have not been paying by cash. I really think that paying by cash would reduce my miscellaneous and “other food” expenses, though, so I plan on redoubling my efforts this month.

8. No more Buying Clothes – I am rocking out this challenge. The end. Though, I really wish I could go shop the new BR Madmen Collection…

9. 20 mins/reading, 5 days/wk – I am rocking out this challenge as well. The end.

10. Manbattical – I considered abandoning the challenge early, but I am actually doing really well. I’ve achieved a little bit of clarity and distance from the male sex. I will hopefully be gathering my thoughts on this at some point relatively soon.

***

So that’s it. Two challenges this month were near complete flops (grad schools and gallery artists). And one failed completely (exercising), and that’s sad, even though it was a bonus challenge. While I technically did well on my dance focus, I don’t feel like I accomplished much.

In need of improvement? Paying by Cash, and not drinking Coke. No matter what. Also, I could have made more effort on my Dance Focus.

The big successes? Reading, no clothes, and Floweruary.

I will post about my March Goals…tomorrow. Until then!

Leave a Reply

