signs the world might be ending

You’ve all heard rumors of December 2012 and the impending end of civilization as we know it. Well, I might have just found another sign of your imminent doom: I like to run. (Cue ominous music.)All right, so maybe the world’s not ending because I like to run – but it is definitely something I never thought I would feel or say. I mean, let’s be honest – I went running while in Nashville, even though it was the middle of the day and I was dancing all weekend and there was no earthly reason why I should have tackled 1.5 miles and two huge hills. But I did…and because of that, I might be crazy.

 I find that I really like running in the evenings. I understand that there are more benefits to running in the morning – you burn calories all day, and it’s a good way to get up and be immediately active. However, I am more likely to sleep in most mornings, whereas I actually find it quite easy to walk in the door when I get home from work and immediately throw on my running shorts, turn around, and go for a jog.

Over the past month, I have been running nine times, totaling just over twelve miles. My most recent run had a pace of9:58min/mi, which is a moderate improvement over the first time I ran at10:16min/mi. Considering the fact that this most recent run also included two very large hills in the heat of the day, I’d say that’s a rocking time. Also, my run time is much more consistently under 10 min/mi than it was when I started this whole thing.

Goal for April: I have not yet run two miles in one go, so that will be my goal for April: to consistently run 1.5 to 2 miles (I am slowly becoming more comfortable with a mile and a half, so I don’t foresee a problem). I would also like to be able to consistently run an 8:30 min/mi.

***

Side note: I think I should go buy some running shoes. For a while, I didn’t see running as a valid investment of my hard-earned money; as time went by, I really liked that I was learning to run with minimal support, which is healthy for your feet. Now, though, I’d like to help save my shins, and I’m sure running shoes would help with that. I guess I just need to find the time (and money!) to go shopping.

Leave a Reply

