june goals

Run twice a week – I have already run three times this June, for a total of just under 5 miles. In addition to running twice a week, I would rather that the majority of my runs are closer to two miles than to one.

Deep-clean the apartment once a week – I am going to choose Sunday as the day of cleaning, which will help me stick to a schedule. My calendar for keeping track of these things will even be color-coded. Winning.

Minimize my time on the computer – I want to be able to check my email and then close my computer. I do not want to spend hours on Hulu and Netflix. I will not get caught up on facebook. The computer will be for email and for blogging and – I hope – very little else. There is too much going on in life to be tied to a little blue screen.

Reduce my spending at restaurants – this is the evolution of “Track my Spending,” which will continue for the rest of the year. Reducing my spending at restaurants might mean eating out less, and it might mean ordering smarter (no drinks, sharing with a friend if it’s a big meal), or getting a cute boy to regularly pay for my meal (any takers?). When a friend suggests lunch or dinner so we can hang out, I want to suggest walking in a park or going to the pool. More fun, and so much more affordable.

Dance Focus – Triple steps. I think about my triple steps all the time, but I know they’re off. I feel…slow. Like I can’t quite move as fast as I want. It’s time to fix that. I have an exercise to work on from Evita, and I’m going to add it before every run (it involves a lot of jumping) – that way, it will also count as a warm-up!

Read 20 mins/day, 5 days/wk. This goal will continue for the rest of the year. Expect it. This month, I want to finally finish The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson (this one drags a bit), and I want to read Catch-22 (another one of those books I somehow missed in high school).

***

That’s it for now. I feel like I have a lot on my plate right now, and I still have a tendency to slack off halfway through each month. Who wants to hold me accountable? I would welcome random phone calls at odd hours inquiring if I’ve finally cleaned up my bathroom, or if I’m on the computer wasting time.

Leave a Reply

